| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
DLZ
Joined: 13 May 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:03 pm Post subject: Spammed? |
|
|
Hi fellow Bloggers,
This morning I posted a new entry to my blog which can be viewed here:
http://downbroadstreet.com/blog/?p=6
I went in later to check if there were any comments posted and there was a link to another blog in a comment. In this other blog there is a word for word post identical to mine. You can view it at:
http://dietpillsnews.com/blog/dietnews/my-motivation%e2%80%a6/
Ironically this post links back to mine.
Now I'm a brand spanking newbie to blogging but why would someone do this? My site revolves around my goal of losing weight, but I don't want to be affiliated w/ a site called "Diet Pills News". The fact that they are linking back to me makes it look as if I endorse them. I'm also not sure why this showed up as a comment. I have not yet approved or deleted this post but want to figure out the best way to:
A. Find out why it occurred
B. Contact the poster to stop it
and
C. Find the most effective way to dispel this from happening in the future.
The comment awaiting moderation looks like this:
Any input is welcome and appreciated.
Thanks,
Doug
http://downbroadstreet.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jim Hutchinson Moderator
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 408 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Doug
That is known as a trackback. They post a summary or the first paragraph of your article and link to your site to read the rest. It is not an endorsement on your part. It just means that the site owner/author likes what you wrote and is helping you promote your site, while at the same time drawing some traffic into their own.
Note that the article snippet does not say who wrote the article. Throughout the rest of their site, their articles all say, "Posted by diet". Also note that the trackback does not appear anywhere on their navigation menu. Their visitors would have to see a link to it from somewhere within their site.
While you may not always agree with the source of the trackbacks, they are good for your promotions and Search Engine Optimization (SEO).
For the other site, your motivation can be an inspiration to their visitors who want to improve their health. Overall, look at this as a good thing. As you write more, you will most likely get others who link back to you.
If that is not your goal, then you can password protect your articles so that they can only be read by people who register and log into your site. But on the other hand, if you want to help inspire others, then treat the trackbacks as a bonus.
Jim |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DLZ
Joined: 13 May 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:20 am Post subject: Thanks Jim |
|
|
Jim,
Thank you for clarifying this for me. I did think later that it might be a good thing to get hits from this. I've been learning quite a bit over the last few weeks and I appreciate all the help that you & the other posters & moderators have offered.
I hope that you're doing well out there in Iowa. That's quite a tragic situation that you guys have to deal with.
Thanks again for your input.
Regards,
-- Doug |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rosalind Gardner Site Admin
Joined: 02 Nov 2005 Posts: 794 Location: Beautiful BC, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:10 pm Post subject: Is that Trackback Spam? |
|
|
Hi Doug,
I have a slightly different take on that as I do consider that sort of trackback / linking another spam technique. Actually, I was going to write about a similar incident on my blog this week.
Basically, in cases where they've just copied and linked to your work without any additional content or commentary, they probably hope that you are not moderating your blog and will allow the trackback to be posted ... which of course links back to their blog.
And like you said, you don't want to be affiliated w/ a site called "Diet Pills News" so just don't approve (or unapprove) the comment. Their link to your site will remain, but you won't be linking out to the spammer.
Hope that helps!
Cheers,
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DLZ
Joined: 13 May 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ros,
Thank you for your opinion on that. I already deleted the comment so I'm one step ahead of you. Please stop by often!
-- Doug
-- http://downbroadstreet.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rosalind Gardner Site Admin
Joined: 02 Nov 2005 Posts: 794 Location: Beautiful BC, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:36 pm Post subject: Trackback Spam |
|
|
Hey Doug,
Glad to hear that you deleted the trackback.
Just to give you a little more information, I posted an article about Trackback Spam on the blog.
Cheers,
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DLZ
Joined: 13 May 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:00 pm Post subject: Thanks |
|
|
Ros,
Your most recent post answered a lot of questions for me. I've been absorbing a huge amount of material since I started doing this and continue to find out new things each day.
Last night I signed up for the "Blog Classroom" series that you and Anik are offering. Any advice that you can offer as far as getting the most out of this course will be much appreciated.
Regards,
Doug
http://downbroadstreet.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lowell Rieger Moderator
Joined: 22 Jun 2006 Posts: 132 Location: Thomasville GA USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DLZ
Make sure Aksimet is activated in your plugins. You'll need a key which you can get by registering at wordpress.com. (not org.)
Akismet has caught over 4,000 spam comments for me so far. It keeps you from being pestered with email notifications on obvious spam coments and trashes them for you automatically after 30 days.
Lowell |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|